7. Responding to a INT opener
when you should simply pass
The six-point rule is ingrained.
“You must respond with six or

more points.”

Yes — but this applies when part-
ner opens One-of-a-Suit, not INT
(you respond with six points in case
partner has 19). When partner opens
INT, they have at most 14 points —
the values for game will not be pres-
ent, unless you have 1l or more
points. By all means upgrade a
shapely hand with slightly fewer
points but a balanced ten-point hand
should pass partner’s INT opener.

What Happened

After North raised to 2NT, South
thought he was being invited to
game, so the near-hopeless game
was reached. Trick one proceeded
a4 Al aK, a6, declarer correctly
trying dummy’s aJ in case West
had underled aKQ, then ducking
Easts aK. He ducked the a9
return too, winning A A on the
third round, East now exhausted
of spades (the point of the ducking
plays). Dummy had thrown #3 on
the third spade.

There was no chance of making
nine tricks but declarer demon-
strated the best way to play
diamonds. He led ¢3 to ¢J on the
first round, without cashing ¢K
first. This he did to retain his ¢ K9
finesse position in case of the actual
split (also catering to West holding
a singleton ¢ Q).

Dummy’s ¢J lost to East’s ¢Q,
East returning #Q. Winning %A,
declarer next led ¢4 to ¢ A. When
West discarded, he was able to lead
back ¢2, holding ¢ K9 over East’s
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What Happened
S W N E
INT(1) Pass 2NT(2) Pass
3NT(3) end

(1) Weak — 12-14 points.

(2) Mistake. There cannot be the values for
game. Bear in mind that 2NT does not say,
“Let's try for eight tricks.” It is invitational,
saying, “Let’s try for nine tricks and game if
you are upper range.”

(3) South thinks he is being invited — and
is maximum.

Contract: 3NT, Opening Lead: &4

What Should Have Happened

S W N E
INT Pass Pass(1) Pass

(1) Yes — game values are not present so
North should pass.

Contract: INT, Opening Lead: &4

+108. He could cover ¢8 with ¢9
and cash ¢K. He then cashed
v AK and conceded the remainder
— down two.

What Should Have Happened
Declarer’s play was perfect. After
the recommended pass of INT, he

makes his contract exactly.
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