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10. Being a slave to the Rule of 20
You should open the bidding with 12
or more points. You can open the
bidding with slightly fewer than 12
points if you have a shapely hand
and a useful guideline here is the
Rule of 20 — open the bidding
when the number of cards in your
two longest suits added to your total
point-count reaches 20 or more.

The Rule of 20 is not really a
“Rule”. It’s a guideline. If you have
honours in your short suits, no
intermediate cards, and your suit
lengths will make rebidding tricky,
feel free to exercise your judge-
ment and pass. Take these hands.

All three are clear passes: aceless
piles of rubbish. Just imagine, what
will you rebid in each case if
partner responds 1♠?

What Happened
West led the ♠10 v 2♣, East
winning ♠Q and at trick two
cashing ♥A, West giving an
encouraging signal by playing ♥8.
East continued with ♥7, West
winning ♥K and returning a third
heart. East ruffed (with ♣5) and
now cashed ♠A and led a third
spade. South threw his ♥Q as
West ruffed. West now led his
fourth heart and East ruffed (with
♣8). Declarer overruffed with ♣K
and now all of West’s ♣AQJ10 had
to score.

Declarer garnered only three
tricks — down five and, to rub salt
into the wound, West claimed 100
honours (this was rubber bridge,
where holding four of the top five

honours in trumps gains you an
extra 100 points). East-West there-
fore earned 600 points.

What Should Have Happened
Nothing. Rien du tout. Next.
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Contract: 2♣ , Opening Lead: ♠10 

Dealer: South, Vulnerability: Both

N

W E
S

♠K8532
♥J53
♦AJ102
♣3

1♣(1) Pass 1♠ Pass
2♣(2) End

(1) Ouch — just because the hand satisfies
the Rule of 20 doesn’t mean you must open
it. This is an aceless, intermediate-free
collection with no rebid over 1♠.
(2) South may like to pass, but partner’s
1♠ response is unlimited — one hundred
per cent forcing.

What Happened

S W N E

♠J6
♥Q964
♦KQ
♣K7642

♠AQ74
♥A7
♦86543
♣85

♠109
♥K1082
♦97
♣AQJ109

What Should Have Happened

S W N E

Pass Pass Pass Pass

(1) This auction (or lack of) reminds me of a
story concerning the late Boris Schapiro, occa-
sionally somewhat irrascible. On the board in
question, he had conceded 4♠ at his table
and, scoring up with teammates, he was told
of the absence of any bidding. “Passed out!”,
he exclaimed. “What was the auction?”

Contract: Passed out, Opening Lead: -

♠QJ
♥J742
♦K8432
♣KJ

♠Q
♥K32
♦KJ32
♣Q6532

♠K4
♥Q742
♦KQ
♣J8432


